Castle Combe Circuit

Castle Combe Circuit opened just 18 months after Silverstone in the summer of 1950, making it one of the longest established circuits in the UK, and for over 60 years has been at the forefront of motor sport in the South West. From a venue struggling to survive in the 1950s, to a track facing imminent closure in the early 1970s, since 1976 owned and run by the Strawford family, the now thriving circuit today provides thrills and enjoyment for thousands.

Among the many famous drivers to have tackled the challenging Wiltshire track are seven who went on to become Formula 1 World Champions: Mike Hawthorn, Graham Hill, Jody Scheckter, Alan Jones, Ayrton Senna, Nigel Mansell and Damon Hill, while on two wheels John Surtees, Derek Minter, Mike Hailwood, Barry Sheene and Carl Fogarty have also starred.

Today, the circuit boasts modern facilities for competitors and spectators, providing what is generally recognised as the closest circuit racing in British motorsport. In addition, Action Days, Racing & Rally School Driving Experiences and Track Days provide many opportunities for car and bike enthusiasts to drive on this fast and demanding circuit.

The comprehensive story of the Circuit is available in a book published for the Diamond Jubilee in 2010. From the days of the Castle Combe estate and RAF airfield, the 154 page book charts the history of the Circuit, illustrated with numerous colour and black & white photos. Copies of Castle Combe Circuit – The First 60 Years by Paul Lawrence and Peter Stowe are available from the Castle Combe Circuit Office (Monday-Friday) or from the Circuit Shop at major events.

The Circuit Archive includes programmes, news reports, results sheets, photographs and memorabilia from 1950 onwards, and we are always interested in donation or loan of more of the same. Although the Archive is not open to the public, we always endeavour to answer any questions relating to the Circuit’s history. Please contact the Circuit for further information.

Castle Combe Circuit

Castle Combe Circuit
Yatton Keynell
SN14 7BW